Letting Go

I definitely set my sights on it. I imagined our life there.  How our lives will turn dramatically and give us a new sense of meaning and purpose.

My hopes were high. My dreams were etched in my mind.

Yet in a glimpse, those dreams became a blur. There were doubts if it will materialize. I questioned God. Were my motives wrong? Did we do something not right? Are we lacking in anything?

I spiralled. Just like when a setback happens to me. But after a night, I said to myself. Enough. No matter how hard I think of all the reasons why it happened, it was out of my control. Only God knows His ultimate reason for this.

The Lord gives, the Lord takes away. And just like that, it dawned on me, I should not put my trust in the things of this world. Everything is temporary. Everything is owned by the Lord. Whatever happens, if it is His will, it will come to pass. It will happen in His time and in His way, not mine.

Hard lesson to learn. It hurts when you expect too much and things don’t go as planned. Let our hands hold everything loosely, because that way, it is easier to let go and let God.

Let me know what you're thinking! :-)