Be Patient. God is at Work.

 

Conviction comes swiftly to those who are willing to listen to the voice of God.

Last night, I was emotionally drained and I attracted negative energy by expecting the worst scenario to happen to me. The worst did happen and I lost my trust in a person who just failed to meet my standards of decent behavior. Out of my sheer frustration, I blocked that person from my friend list and did not want to have anything to do with her. I said to myself, I don’t deserve to be treated this way. These kinds of people are not worth my time and energy. Better to just walk away from them and keep my peace of mind. I slept the night away feeling tired to have to go through that ordeal.

Morning after. Just as I’ve believed, today is a fresh, new day from the Lord. My family and I went to church, and lo and behold, the message was “BE PATIENT. GOD IS AT WORK.” God surely knows what you need to hear even before you ask Him to reveal Himself to you. It was so timely and on point that I needed to be patient with people. I needed to love my neighbors. Even to love my enemies. And to even pray for them!

I know that my being human caused me to react negatively on the circumstance at hand. But somehow, I feel as though I have improved in my interactions with people. Yes, I still do give limits to my patience with people. But somehow, I have learned to pray and turn them over to the Lord because in all honesty, I now know that I cannot control anyone’s behavior and expect them to conform to my standards of decent behavior. It is just my heart’s desire that I still be transformed by the Lord to be more accepting of people’s weaknesses, because I also have my own weaknesses.

Be patient. God is at work. Let that be a reminder to me daily when my temper is about to flare because of failed expectations. May I be always guided by the thought that everyone needs grace. Grace is the best gift ever that we received from the Lord and it is that same grace that will be the best gift we can give to our neighbors and enemies.

Let me know what you're thinking! :-)

