A Day with the Oldies

 

 

Just yesterday, I joined my mom in an outing to Calamba, Laguna. We headed to Pool on the Hill Resort and enjoyed a night of swimming and elderly fun. I don’t know what got into me, but I just felt going to an outing with mostly elderly people will be a unique and enriching experience. It wasn’t bad after all. Let me tell you why.

I get to realize that their life concerns are totally different from mine. While I dream of the future, they reminisce about their past. While I wish to have a baby of my own, they talk about their grandchildren and how they fetch them from school. While those my age are busy with their careers, they spend their time singing in a videoke until 2 am in the morning! While I live at the prime of my life, they talk  of their ailments and maintenance medicines. They enumerate the list of foods that should be avoided because they are unhealthy for them. Which brings me to my next point – it is so uncool to have someone police you of your eating habits. So hanging out with the elderly should not be done on a regular basis. 🙂 Or you’ll end up eating camote and water only. 😀

I decided to go primarily because I am concerned my mom will slip into the pool if left unguarded. Little did I know that I will get a peek into the world of the elderly. I got to take a look at how I will be 30 years from now.

Maybe someday, my child or grandchild will be the one to accompany me to an outing. And I get to tell them that once I joined my mom and her senior citizen friends into a night of swimming in a hot spring. 🙂

Let me know what you're thinking! :-)

