And That is Why You are my Friend

friends2She’s in Ireland now with her whole family. But when we were yet highschoolers, she became one of my best friends ever. I wrote this especially for her a long, long time ago. I hope she remembers it. I miss you, friend! Drop me a line or two when you read this post, will you? 🙂

And That is Why You are my Friend

By Leah Lyn E. Albano

Shadows of my past are no secrets from you.

I’ve said them all and you saw me through.

Barriers in my heart, you were able to bend,

And that is why you are my friend.

 

Joyous times in my present are shared with you.

Through laughter and tears, you remained true.

Even my broken self, you were able to mend,

And that is why you are my friend.

 

Dreams of my future, fulfillment is your hope.

You wish that I may surpass life’s tangled ropes.

To reach for the star, you lend me your hand,

And that is why you are my friend.

 

Life eternal, we will still be together.

You carried me to our Friend and secured me forever.

Full of love, full of life were everything you sent.

And that is why your are my friend.

 

For Laurice Chua

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you're thinking! :-)

