I Survived Epilepsy

 

epilepsy 2

 

There are just issues closest to my heart because I’ve gone through them myself. One of them is the issue on how to react around a person having an epileptic attack or seizure, as some may call it.

I remember when I had my very first attack when I was around 4 years old. I was just playing with my geometric shapes, when suddenly I had a very bad convulsion. Our labandera back then saw me and instinctively brought me to the hospital in tricycle. My mom would later tell me she had no footwear when she brought me there. I would forever be grateful to her. I was then hospitalized, but not yet diagnosed to have an epilepsy. The diagnosis came much later when I was around 10 years old.  This happened after a series of medical tests and after a lot of experiences of seizure attacks in school and in church. I was then given medication to manage my condition.

My kind of epilepsy is the one that they call petit mal seizures. I have an aura too. It’s that feeling you have that you know you would have a seizure. I remember an experience wherein I alerted my classmate that I will pass out, but because she was also a young gradeschooler back then, she didn’t know how to respond to me having a seizure. Eventually, I was then brought to the school clinic. But horror of horrors, when I later recovered and had my consciousness back again, our school nurse allowed me to go back to  my class again without her accompanying me. She didn’t even wait for my mom to get me and let her decide if I am to go home and rest for the remainder of the day. I’m sure that nurse haven’t had the slightest idea of what persons with epilepsy and their family go through every single waking moment of their lives.

That’s why it’s important for people to be educated on epilepsy – what it is and what it is not and how best we can help during and after a seizure attack.

epilepsy 3

March 26 is Global Epilepsy Awareness Day that’s why I am making a blog post about it. I hope that people will also take time to understand this condition. Those with epilepsy have special needs too. But as I’ve always said, with proper care from family and friends, plus a competent doctor who will prescribe good medication that will manage the condition, epilepsy can be overcome. I know this to be true because after years of battling with it, I finally survived epilepsy! By God’s healing grace, my last attack was when I was in college and till this day forward, I haven’t had a seizure again.

 

I would like to thank my friend Tin Fajardo for sharing the photos here with me. 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Survived Epilepsy

  1. Thanks for this post, I think it is very important that people understand epilepsy. It is a very frightening thing especially for a young child to witness someone having a seizure. I’m glad you have overcome epilepsy, I hope the rest of your life will be seizure free.

Let me know what you're thinking! :-)

