Open Up My Womb

“It takes time for seed to come up. You don’t expect carrots to come up the day after you plant them, do you? Pray now for tomorrow’s needs.” – Marilyn Hickey on Make Your Day Count

HPIM1471I was looking for inspiration when I came across this passage from the book my friend gave me. Suddenly, it hit me. I may be a wife of nearly three years already. But I am not yet a mother. The closest thing I have become is being a second mom to my preschool students before. But being a mother to my own child is a different matter altogether.

For those years that I have been married, my husband has only been physically present with me for a year. He was destined to work overseas. In the year that we were together, part of those months, I got sick. We’ve been trying to have a baby, but we have not been blessed – just yet. I’ve been frantic about not having a baby, since I’m already in my mid-30s. But my husband will always assure me that it is God who decides when to give the baby. He even assured me, baby or no baby, he will love me no matter what. Isn’t that what matters?

DSC_0204

As I read again the passage I shared earlier in this entry, I realized I should have been praying to God for this desire of ours to have a baby, even when my husband is away. I suddenly prayed to God last night, that He opens up my womb in His most perfect timing, so that I will be prepared to have a baby soon after my husband comes home to be with me, if God wills it to be so.

I think no husband and wife  would desire no children in their family life. That’s why I feel for those who have been barren or those who have been longing to have a child but have not been blessed yet. The Lord only knows and understands their pain.

And so I say, pray Leah for tomorrow’s needs and desires. It takes time for seed to come up. This might be yet another journey that the Lord has in store for you – that of waiting to have your little Randy or little Leah. Just wait and pray.

 

Photo credit: Rommel Quimson

 

2 thoughts on “Open Up My Womb

Let me know what you're thinking! :-)

