The Velveteen Leah

velveteen rabbitI love storybooks. One of my favorite is The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams. It spoke volumes to me when I read it especially when it came to this part when the Skin Horse said to the Rabbit….

“Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.” 

I began to know this as true when I was at a point in my life that I no longer was my usual self and all the ugly stuff about me came out like a can of worms. Only my family and few, rare friends whom I have kept to this day, loved me warts and all. That is the time when I knew that I became Real. Yes, my ugly skin showed off, but they still see the beauty in me.

I should have done this a long time ago, documenting my journey towards discovering the real Leah, but times and circumstances prevented me from doing so. Last night, I couldn’t sleep because of the recurring thoughts that I need to try and venture out to what my good friend Maggie recommended me to do – that of starting to write my own blog, my own Diary of Anne Frank thing. I needed to hear that again, that I could write well and bless others in the process.

And so, The Velveteen Leah is born. Real stuff. Real me. In the real circumstances of the day to day life God has given me.

 

—–

Photo credit: grabbed from themodernmansucript.wordpress.com

 

Let me know what you're thinking! :-)

